Overblog
Editer l'article Suivre ce blog Administration + Créer mon blog

Day 11 : From Kikugawa to Fukuroi

Publié le par Vinceyesman

         

Day 11 : From Kikugawa to Fukuroi (25 km)

  • Passage of stations :

Station 25 - 日坂 - Nissaka

 

Station 26 - 掛川 - Kagegawa

 

Station 27 - 袋井 - Fukuroi

 

  • Road

Nissaka, Dategawa, Nitôchô, Kakegawa, Okatsu, Haragawa, Fukuroi.
  • Visits

 Nissaka (25, Koto no Mama Hachimangû to Ôsugi), Kakegawa (26, Otemon, Kakegawa-jô), Okatsu (Zengouji), Haragawa (Fujisengengû akatorii, Kataha no ashi & Myonichiji), Fukuroi (27).
  • Sleep
        Before Mitsuke, inside toilets that I found in an Isolated temple.

 
 
Trip Journal :
 
       
       I believe that Mother Nature is not kind with me! I found the day before a really nice spot to spend the night and few hours after, it started raining. I was under a shelter but with the mist that the fans are blowing, now I am awake very early. I use my pancho to avoid the droplet going on my mosquito net. I can't sleep, I turn in every possible directions and finally, I decide to get up. It's 4.30 am, I start packing and leave. At least, it's not raining and not yet hot so let's take advantage of it. I pass by a roadside restaurant with a Family Mart on the side. I eat slowly and enjoy it because I am really starving. But, it's very early and at this time, I cannot find anyone to sign my book for Nissaka. The official picture, it's gonna be me again.

25 - Nissaka (Me in front of Hiroshige's Ukyo-e)
 
I continue my trip in the morning mist. I don't see people, just some tea farmers and mammies walking their dogs before going to work on their field. I am following a small path in the quiet Japanese countryside until it leads me onto a larger road. I stop at a few temples and have breakfast in a rest area near Kakegawa. Nevertheless, I will wait to get closer to the Castle to ask for an autograph. I am sure I will find someone over there. Little by little, I see the shape of the Castle and its massive door.

       


26 - Kakegawa (Ozawa Takashi)
 
Here is the autograph from the man who is in charge of one part of the Castle. He offers me a tour and comments the visit. He is very nice with me and gives me his Meishi (business card). I will send him the picture. He was indeed a nice guide and showed me in details the part he works in. I ask to pay a student price that does not exist but when I tell him that I am French, he finally gives me a discount! Merci Takashi-san !! This is a beautiful white Castle, rather small because only the main tower and some offices still remain.
After, I continue towards Fukuroi and stop eat a salad with a beer that I bought in the combini close to Nishikakegawa train station. After lunch, I take a nap, buy another big bottle of green tea and head to Fukuroi. At this time of the day, it's very hot and I really appreciate to stop and visit temples!


 
At Fukuroi, I stop in a small house that is used as a shop where pilgrims can stop by and buy gift, tea... When I enter I can see two men inside, talking. I begin a conversation with them about my trip and a third one comes in. Everybody is intrigued by my story and impressed by my level of Japanese (they don't need a lot to be impressed anyway). They offer me a real green tea, a red beans ice-cream and the third person gives me a clothe with the map of the Tokaido on it. So I take their names and a picture. That break is indeed very rewarding for me! 

      
 
27 - Fukuroi (Takagi Hironobu and Tsuyoshi Muramatsu)
 
I stop by a combini to get food and continue on the way to Mitsuke. I spotted a place with toilets on the map when I was planning my trip. I decide to stop by a temple and spend the night there (I cannot find the name of the town or the temple). The place is very quiet and desert so one should bother me. Maybe the rain could disturb me but protected inside the toilets, I fear nothing.
 

     DAY 10

DAY 12

Commenter cet article